Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Bassoon Concertino (2013)
Work Notes
There are three options to accompany the solo bassoon.
1 - tutti: fl, cl, pf, hp, 2perc (crotales, vib, mba), vn, va, vc
2 - without harp: fl, cl, pf, 2perc (crotales, vib, mba), vn, va, vc
3 - without percussion: fl, cl, pf, hp, vn, va, vc
The same full score and parts are used for options 1, 2, and 3.
G Schirmer Inc
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Sub Category
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Bassoon Concertino (2013)
Related works:
   Bassoon Concertino
   Bass Clarinet Concertino

Composer note:
Commissioned by and dedicated with admiration and gratitude to The Danish Chamber Players and bassoon soloist Gunnar Eckhoff, Bassoon Concertino was premiered on April 6, 2014 in Copenhagen in Tivoli Concert Hall and has a duration of 10 minutes.

The work is in three parts (fast, slow, faster,) is based on beautiful works of art, and offers homages to three Danish composers:

Part #1: Paul Klee: ROPE DANCER: Homage to Hans Abrahamsen;
Part #2: Wassily Kandinsky: SKY BLUE: Homage to Bent Sørensen;
Part #3: Joan Miro: LADDERS CROSS THE BLUE SKY IN A WHEEL OF FIRE: Homage to Poul Ruders.

It is rare that we get to hear a work that showcases a bassoon player. This Concertino requires exceptional virtuosity of the soloist featuring playing of all kinds — rhythmic, athletic, punchy, lyrical, delicate, jazzy, whimsical, capricious, elegant — and celebrates the amazing artist and beautiful instrument in all its colors.

In 2016, a version was made for Bass Clarinet.

— Augusta Read Thomas

  • Ensemble
    Oberlin Contemporary Music Ensemble
    George Sakakeeny, Bassoon
    Timothy Weiss
    Oberlin Music:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.