Repertoire Search

Mark Adamo

Publisher: G. Schirmer

August Music (for 2 flutes and string orchestra) (2009)
G Schirmer Inc
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Mark Adamo August Music (for 2 flutes and string orchestra) (2009)

Related works:
   August Music for 2 flutes and string quartet
   August Music for 2 flutes and string orchestra

Ingmar Bergman explains the title of his 1955 comedy Sommarnattens leende (Smiles of a Summer Night) in a signal line of dialogue. Upright in her wheelchair, an aged doyenne tartly observes to her footman that the summer night smiles three times: once, for the fools, who know nothing: once for the lovers, who know too little; and lastly for the old, who — like herself — know too much. In August Music, I've reversed the order of the smiles — the gleeful fools have the last word — and saluted that worldly doyenne by renaming her movement for her wisdom, rather than her age. Otherwise, these three brief portraits — rueful, rapt, and headlong by turns — are meant both as a salute to that rich film and as a gift to Sir James and to Lady Jeanne Galway. Fools they are not, but I know few musicians (or spouses) at once so loving and so wise.

— Mark Adamo

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.