Repertoire Search
News - World Premiere of L’Isola della cittá – Concerto for Piano Trio and Orchestra by Bent Sørensen

Photo©Lars Skaaning
Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Bent Sørensen has written a triple concerto for the Danish ensemble, Trio con Brio and The Danish National Symphony Orchestra. The world premiere will take place in Koncerthuset in Copenhagen Thursday January 21. The title, L’isola della cittá [The Island in the City] refers to the relationship between the work’s soloists and the chamber orchestra which surrounds them, physically and audibly, as if like an island situated amidst a bustling city.

The composer writes, ”The work is in five movements that are to be played continuously without pause. Three short movements (a prelude, an intermezzo and a farewell) flock around the multifacetted second movement (which begins with a fugue for the piano - something I would usually never do!) and the impetuous, even scherzo-like fourth movement. In all five movements the ”island” (the trio) tries to escape the shadows of the orchestra. This is most evident in the last movement, in which the trio ever so silently and without attracting any attention, simply glides away from the orchestra’s noisy shadows.

L’Isola della Cittá is written for Trio con Brio, commissioned by The Danish National Radio and Trondheim Symphony Orchestra and Trondheim Chamber Music Festival.

Video Programme Note (in english)

Bent Sørensen's Orchestral Works - Playlist on Spotify

Back to List
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.