Repertoire Search
News - Nyman Marks his 70th Birthday with Symphonies

Monday, March 10, 2014
Michael Nyman is one of Britain's most innovative and celebrated composers. He has written almost 50 works for orchestra, but until recently, never a symphony. To mark his 70th birthday in 2014, he is writing a number of symphonies which will be premiered over the next season. His Symphony No 2, Symphony No 5 and Symphony No 6 were premiered in 2013 and are available to view online via Scores on Demand. A short film about two of the works can be viewed here. Symphony No 2 receives its UK premiere with the RPO in London on 30 April 2014.

Symphony No 5 was premiered in Spain in May 2013 by the Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León, with Symphony No 6 following in September with a premiere by the LSO in Paris. The sixth symphony is in four movements and represents the four seasons in nature as depicted by the artist Ahae in his photographic work “Through My Window”. The world premiere marked the end of an exhibition of wildlife photographs taken by the South Korean industrialist, known simply as Ahae.

Please be in touch with the London office if you would like to know more about this exciting series of symphonies.

Back to List
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.