Repertoire Search

Kevin Volans

Publisher: Chester Music

Cello Concerto (1997)
commissioned by the Bayerische Rundfunk/musica viva with financial support from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society
Work Notes
Revised 2006 Dedicated to Marie Donnelly
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
22 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Full Score

Programme Note
Kevin Volans Cello Concerto (1997)
Score preview:

  • 23 APR 2007
    Queen's University, Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Ulster Orchestra
    Gregory Rose, conductor
  • 31 JAN 2006
    National Concert Hall, Dublin, Ireland
    RTE Symphony Orchestra
    Gavriel Lipkind, cello; Bobby Houlihan, conductor

It's a measure of Volans' success that his Cello Concerto originally composed in 1997 has been so enthusiastically taken up by a soloist of the calibre of Gavriel Lipkind. This was the first performance of a revised version which, at Lipkind's request, is even more relentless and uncompromising. Lipkind played it from memory, and with the unbridled panache of a rock artist.
Andrew Johnstone, The Irish Times,02/02/2006
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.