Repertoire Search

John Tavener

Publisher: Chester Music

Eternal Memory (1991)
commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Tavener Eternal Memory (1991)
In the great creative cultures of the world, human beings do not regard themselves as two-legged animals, descended from the apes, whose needs and satisfactions can be achieved through pursuing social, political and economic self-interest in the material world and as though their life was confined to a material space-time dimension. On the contrary, they think of themselves first and foremost as descended from the gods, or from God, and as heirs to eternity, with a destiny that goes far beyond anything that can be fulfilled in terms of the material world. They come from a divine source, and the divine world is their birthright and their true home. Here, a certain act of recollection is needed: the self-image and world view that may dominate us have their origin in a loss of memory, in a forgetfulness of all other. ETERNAL MEMORY is about this concept.

ETERNAL MEMORY is a meditation on "the remembrance of death" - Remembrance of the Paradise Lost, in the first section, and then in the middle section, which has an insubstantial illusory quality, the material of the paradise lost is the same, but it is "like castles children build in the sand". The enjoyment is limited merely to the effort one puts in building them. And as soon as you stop, the sand collapses and leaves not a trace of the work you put in" (St Gregory of Nyssa).

The final section looks forward to the unknown paradise promised to us, yet to come so, in spite of the ephemeral middle section, Paradise persists, even though we don not know what it is.

John Tavener

Preview the score:

  • Ensemble
    Moscow Virtuosi / Kiev Chamber Choir / Chilingirian String Quartet
    Patricia Rozario, soprano / Steven Isserlis, cello / Vladimir Spivakov and Mykola Gobdych, conductors
  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Raphael Wallfisch, cello
    Justin Brown
  • Ensemble
    Moscow Virtuosi
    Steven Isserlis, cello
    Vladimir Spivakov
  • Ensemble
    Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus
    Ruth Palmer, violin; Josephine Knight, cello; Elin Manaha Thomas, soprano; Andrew Kennedy, tenor
    Vasily Petrenko
    EMI Classics:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.