Repertoire Search

Peter Maxwell Davies

Publisher: Chester Music

Concert Suite from "The Boyfriend" (1971)
Chester Music Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
25 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Peter Maxwell Davies Concert Suite from "The Boyfriend" (1971)
Read about this work at

• Introduction : The Boy Friend; I could be happy with you
• Sur la plage
• A Room in Bloomsbury
• I Could Be Happy With You
• The ‘You don’t want to play with me’ Blues
• Poor Little Pierrette
• Polly’s Dream : Free Fantasy on tunes from the boy friend

The original music by Sandy Wilson for THE BOY FRIEND, a fifties pastiche of the twenties, needs no explanation. This potpourri consists of a selection of my arrangements for Ken Russell’s films. I wrote ‘Polly’s Dream’ as the accompaniment to a fantasy sequence, in which Ken Russell parodies himself – a network of visual cross references. The music, similarly, is full of references, and contains a new Charleston and Fox Trot that I wrote specially. The music is cored for a ‘period’ band, including ukelele. There are piano interludes between each number.

I conducted the first performance of the work on 11 December 1971 in the Queen Elizabeth Hall, given by the Fires of London.

© Peter Maxwell Davies.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.