Repertoire Search

Tristan Keuris

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra (1986)
Commissioned by the Rascher Saxophone Quartet and made possible with a grant from the Dutch Government.
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alto Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
Programme Note
Tristan Keuris Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra (1986)
TRISTAN KEURIS Concerto for Saxophone Quartet & Orchestra (1986)

I heard the Rascher Saxophone Quartet on several occasions and decided to compose two works for them. First came the Music for Saxophones, a quartet on which the concerto is based. I wanted to study the possibilities of the Rascher Quartet by trying out my ideas in a chamber setting first.

The Concerto is a non-thematic piece. The motive presented at the very beginning of the composition is varied and developed throughout the work. The piece is a long chain, where every link is connected with its neighbour, but each link is a little different. This technique of composition gives the concerto real unity of form and also offered me a great deal of freedom.
As I worked on the concerto, I often had the strong feeling I was writing a transcription of a (non-existent) organ symphony. I treat the solo quartet primarily as one instrument, all the voices equally used, with only incidental solos.

The piece has an introductory section; a 'rondo burlesque' which is followed by a long cadenza and a slow movement, followed by a free capitulation of the introduction. A coda based on the rondo burlesque concludes the work.

@ Tristan Keuris

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.