Repertoire Search

Geoffrey Burgon

Publisher: Chester Music

Brideshead Variations (1981)
Work Notes
Originally scored: 1(pic)1(ca)01/1100/hp/str. So please NOTE that the FIRST flute doubles piccolo and the FIRST oboe doubles cor anglais.
Chester Music Ltd
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Geoffrey Burgon Brideshead Variations (1981)
Brideshead Variations is a sequence of six movements taken from the music for Brideshead Revisited, the television serial made by Granada Television from Evelyn Waugh’s famous novel. Much of the music for the series is in strict variation form, based on the sixteen-bar theme heard at the opening the theme, there is a bright six-eight movement, the music of which is associated with Julia’s blossoming romance with Rex Mottram. The third movement is also associated with Julia but this time with the breakdown of her marriage to Rex. The fourth movement is taken from the music which accompanies the hunt at Brideshead and the fifth, which is fugue, takes the bass line of the theme as its melodic idea. The last movement begins quietly with a melody for bassoon and violas and gradually builds to a restatement of the opening theme, expressing the gleam of hope which Charles at last glimpses on his return to Brideshead.

  • Ensemble
    Philharmonia Orchestra
    Geoffrey Burgon
    Silva Screen:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.