Repertoire Search

Edward Gregson

Publisher: Novello & Co

Tuba Concerto (orchestral version) (1978),
Work Notes
arrangement for orchestra, written for John Fletcher
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Edward Gregson Tuba Concerto (orchestral version) (1978),
The concerto is in three movements, following the usual quick-slow-quick pattern: Allegro deciso, Lento e mesto, Allegro giocoso. The first is in a sonata form shell with two contrasting themes, the first rhythmic in character, the second lyrical. There is a reference made in the development section to the opening theme of Vaughan Williams's Tuba Concerto, but only in passing. The second movement unfolds a long cantabile melody for the soloist, which contrasts to a ritornello idea announced three times by the band/orchestra. The last movement is in rondo form, alternating the main theme with two episodes. The first of these is a broad sweeping tune, the second jazz-like in style. After a short cadenza, reference is made to the opening of the concerto, and the work ends with a triumphal flourish.

  • Ensemble
    Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Hans Nickel
    Jan Van der Roost
  • Ensemble
    Royal Ballet Sinfonia
    James Gourlay, tuba
    Gavin Sutherland
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.