Repertoire Search

Edward Gregson

Publisher: Novello & Co

Trumpet Concerto (1983)
Commissioned by Howard Snell with funds from the Arts Council of Great Britain
Work Notes
For James Watson
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
21 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Edward Gregson Trumpet Concerto (1983)
The Trumpet Concerto is in the usual three movements and is scored for Strings and Timpani. The first movement, Allegro giusto, has a sonata form outline and contrasts two main ideas; the first is strident, angular and highly rhythmic: the second is more lyrical and pensive. The strings and timpani play a dramatic role in the musical argument. The second movement again has contrasting elements. After an orchestral introduction (which re-introduces the twelve-note statement heard in the first movement, this time on pizzicato violins) the trumpet enters dramatically. The music here is fragmented but soon dissolves into a more flowing middle section which builds to a powerful climax. The opening music returns, this time in inversion, but leads now to a simple and plaintive re-working of the first trumpet entry. The tension has been resolved and there follows a short cadenza in which the timpani eventually enters and links with the trumpet straight into the Finale, Vivo e brillante. This is more light-hearted and is cast in rondo form. The rondo theme itself is exuberant, upward running scales abounding. The episodes, a broad sweeping tune followed by a hectic string fugato based on the rondo tune, and finally a scherzo, punctuate the various re-appearances of the main theme. A boisterous coda concludes the work.

This work was commissioned by Howard Snell and the Wren Orchestra of London with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain.

Denby Richards, 1983

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    BBC Philharmonic
    Ole Edvard Antonsen (trumpet), Nobuya Sugawa (saxophone)
    Clark Rundell
Gregsonā€™s concerto was dramatic, fiery and rhythmically demanding, tossing themes back and forth between soloist and full orchestra. It was sometimes ethereal, mysterious, haunting and other times melodic, reassuring but leading at the end to a driving, furious climax.
James Conely, Montgomery Advertiser,25/11/2008
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.