Repertoire Search

Edward Gregson

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sonata for Four Trombones (1984)
Commissioned by the Martinin Trombone Ensemble with funds from North West Arts
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Edward Gregson Sonata for Four Trombones (1984)
This work was commissioned by the Marini Trombone Ensemble and was first performed by them at the Purcell Room, London, in January 1985. Funds were provided by North West Arts.

The Sonata is in one continuous movement and takes the dramatic nature of sonata form as its starting point. It consists of five alternating blocks of music which are constantly juxtaposed in different ways:

Tempo 1 - bold and majestically - a fanfare in the form of a rhythmic canon. The appearance of this music always signals a new departure point.

Tempo 2 - stridently

Tempo 3 - peacefully - the music which increasingly becomes important and eventually ends the work

Tempo 4 - aggressively - scherzo-like in style.

Tempo 5 - stately - processional.

Edward Gregson

  • Ensemble
    Hallé Brass (Equale, Quintet) / Northern Trombone Quartet (Sonata)
    Edward Gregson
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.