Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Symphony No 1 (1949)
Alfred Lengnick & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
29 Minutes
Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Symphony No 1 (1949)
The Symphony No. 1 was completed in 1949 and first performed at the Cheltenham Festival in 1951 by the Hallé Orchestra under the composer. The powerful first movement demonstrates Arnold's ability to build large and boldly; sticking firmly to main issues, he makes cogent use of a handful of key motives. The second is a gentle, pare-noted intermezzo, its contemplative mood occasionally disrupted by ferocious brass. The last movement begins as an orthodox fugue; but before long Arnold is punctuating the main subject with explosive staccato chords, as in the final fugue of Verdi's Falstaff. Later on, the subject is briefly transformed into a grotesque military march. It recovers its dignity in a grand and imposing peroration - but the memory of that lapse from symphonic propriety lingers on.

© 1991 Hugo Cole

  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra/ BBC Concert Orchestra
    Vernon Handley
    Conifer Records Limited:
  • Ensemble
    Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra / Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra / Philharmonia Orchestra
    Malcolm Arnold
    EMI Classics:
"Few composers write more brilliantly and colourfully for the orchestra than Malcolm Arnold"
Terry Barfoot, BBC Music Magazine,11/1/1995
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.