Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Symphony for Strings (1946)
Alfred Lengnick & Co Ltd
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
24 Minutes
Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Symphony for Strings (1946)
Sir Malcolm is the composer of nine magnificent symphonies. The first proved convincingly that he could think on the large scale as well as the small; the Ninth is a sobering Last Will and Testament. Before number 1, he made a couple of symphonic experiments, of which the Symphony for Strings is one. It is an uncharacteristic piece in some ways, being full of a certain Bartók-like astringency which was not his natural mode of thought, as well as a more typically Arnoldian dash and energy. His first wife was a violinist who after their marriage continued to play in a string orchestra run by Kathleen Riddick. One thing led to another and in due course the Symphony for Strings was first performed by the Riddick String Orchestra in Kensington Town Hall in April 1947.

© Piers Burton-Page

  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra/ BBC Concert Orchestra
    Vernon Handley
    Conifer Records Limited:
  • Soloist(s)
    Raphael Wallfisch (cello) Esther Ingham (flute) John Turner (recorder)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.