Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Water Music (1964), 82 b
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Water Music (1964), 82 b
1. Allegro Maestoso
2. Andantino
3. Vivace

When I was asked by the National Trust to write a piece for the opening of the Stratford Canal, to be played by a group of musicians on a raft moored on the River Avon, I was overjoyed because this combined two great personal interests of mine. That of preserving the beauty of our countryside and the problem of music played in the open air.

It has always seemed to me that music should be specially composed for open-air performance rather than having the usual music we have played in the open air, consisting of operatic selections and light orchestral music often indifferently arranged. This suite of three movements is a free transcription of the original music which I have made for full orchestra. The original was for wind and percussion only. The carrying out of this commission, for which I have been made a life member of the National Trust, has been a great joy and I hope that some of this pleasure I have had will be shared by listeners to this Water Music.

© 1964 Sir Malcolm Arnold

  • Ensemble
    Dallas Wind Symphony Orchestra
    Jerry F. Junkin
  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / BBC Concert Orchestra / London Philharmonic Orchestra / London Musici / Grimethorpe Colliery Band / Philip Jones Brass Ensemble
    Benjamin Frith, piano
    Vernon Handley / Sir Adrian Boult / Mark Stephenson / Sir Malcolm Arnold / Elgar Howarth
    Conifer Records Limited:
  • 06 JAN 2016
    Maida Vale Studios, London
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Michael Collins, conductor
  • 20 OCT 2013
    Royal Derngate Theatre Northampton
    Northamptonshire County Youth Orchestra
    Andrew Kirkwood, conductor
  • 07 JUL 2001
    Wymondham Abbey, Norfolk
    Wymondham Symphony Orchestra
    Kenneth Hytch, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.