Repertoire Search

Tarik O'Regan

Publisher: Novello & Co

Diomedes (2012)
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Tarik O'Regan Diomedes (2012)
Diomedes was written to form part of collection of solo piano works called Variations for Judith. The collection forms eleven short reflections by different composers on Bist du bei mir, and was presented to Judith Serota as a present when she left the Spitalfields Festival after nearly twenty years at the helm.

Despite its inclusion in the Clavier-Büchlein vor Anna Magdalena Bachin, Bist du bei mir is not by Anna’s father, Johann Sebastian, but instead was composed as an aria by Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel for his opera Diomedes oder die triumphierende Unschuld.

One of the most intriguing characters in the Iliad and Aeneid, Diomedes possesses a robust yet gentle nature in his varied escapades; it is these polarised, but complementary, characteristics which I wanted to bring out in this short piece, dedicated to Judith Serota.

Tarik O’Regan
August 2009

Available as part of the book Variations for Judith - Eleven short reflections on Bist du bei mir by G.H. Stölzel arr J.S. Bach for piano (easy to intermediate)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.