Repertoire Search

Tarik O'Regan

Publisher: Novello & Co

Fallen Words (2013)
Commissioned by Anne McAlister for Philip Sawyer. First performance 28 June 2013 in the Westerkerk, Amsterdam, by Philip Sawyer.
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Tarik O'Regan Fallen Words (2013)
Rakugo, or ‘fallen words’, is a traditional form of Japanese entertainment performed by a lone, seated storyteller (rakugoka) with very few props, if any at all. The complications of each story – its dramatic arc, characterizations and plot turns – are expressed using extremely minimal means, relying on the verbal talents of the rakugoka to maintain interest. This idea is explored in this work for solo organ: Fallen Words. The piece uses a simple, pedal-like thread from start to finish around which is woven the performer’s ‘story’.

Tarik O’Regan, April 2013

Score sample

  • 28 JUN 2013
    Fallen Words World Premiere
    Westerkerk, Amsterdam
    Philip Sawyer
  • 28 JUN 2013
    English Reformed Church, Begijnhof, Amsterdam
    Philip Sawyer

Allusions to the past influence Tarik O'Regan's intriguing Fallen Words, a musical exploration of a uniquely minimal form of Japanese story-telling. The overall effect of the work is hypnotic bringing many subtle nuances.
Stephen Farr, Choir and Organ,01/03/2015
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.