Repertoire Search

Nico Muhly

Publisher: Chester Music

Stabat Mater Dolorosa (2010)
Commissioned by the Kaufman Center with funds from the National Endowment for the Arts for performance at Merkin Hall.
St. Rose Music Publishing
Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Soprano, Baritone

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
Nico Muhly Stabat Mater Dolorosa (2010)
My Stabat Mater is a very simply-constructed piece of music. I knew I wanted to write a duet, a piece of religious music, and something to go along with a bit of Birtwistle. My initial instinct was to base the piece on drones, as Birtwistle’s music has so very many notes, but then I decided that an austere but ecstatic approach was the best to fill a coherent evening. I asked my friend Craig Lucas to paraphrase the Stabat Mater text—which describes the Virgin Mary weeping at the foot of the cross on which her son is crucified. The piece is organized by separating each phrase of the text with a moment of silence, with the exception of the last three, which are joined with a frenzied chorale with improvised dynamics from the harp, winds and strings.

Preview the score

  • 27 MAY 2010
    Stabat Mater Dolorosa World Premiere
    Merkin Concert Hall, Kaufman Center, New York City, USA
    Brad Lubman, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.