Repertoire Search

Simon Holt

Publisher: Chester Music

Telarañas (2009)
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Simon Holt Telarañas (2009)
'Telarañas' (the Spanish for cobwebs) is a duo for violin and cello written for and dedicated to Jakob Kullberg and Jack Liebeck. Much of the music is taken from other parts of a cycle of string pieces called 'Terrain', to which this is the penultimate part. The cycle begins with 'String sextet: the torturer's horse', followed by a quintet of piano, violin, viola, cello and bass; 'everything turns away'. There will then follow a string quartet (as yet unwritten) and the string trio, 'Amapolas' (Poppies) and then this duo. The final piece is a solo for viola, 'mantis'. The material used will cross all six pieces like a giant web. 'Telarañas' lasts approximately 11'.


...a beautiful performance of Telarañas (Spanish for cobwebs)...interest[ed] in the intricate patterns found in nature. The piece makes much of the timbral overlap between cello and violin, and relates to a wider 'web' of chamber pieces. I, for one, can't wait for their completion.
Guy Dammann, The Guardian,25/11/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.