Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Taking Turns (2008)
Commissioned by the sound festival for the Scottish Flute Trio and first performed at Duff House, Banff on 13 November 2008.
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
10 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Taking Turns (2008)
In this work all three players in turn play each of the three instruments - piccolo, flute and alto flute - thus giving a contrasted sound to match the character of the four linked movements: hence the title.

Sleepy using all three alto flutes begins on the lowest note - G. The mood gradually changes as they introduce higher pitches and faster rhythms as they "wake up".

In Lyrical a flute introduces the melody, which is then shared by a second flute and later by the alto flute.

With Mischievous the piccolos arrive on the scene. The first one incites another piccolo and then the flute to join in. The tempo quickens and after a brief climax the mood quietens leading to Peaceful.

In this last movement all three instruments are played. In turn they present a lyrical melody but in different keys so as to suit their individual tessituras.

Programme note by Thea Musgrave

Score sample

  • 13 NOV 2008
    Taking Turns World Premiere
    sound festival, Duff House, Banff, Aberdeenshire
    Scottish Flute Trio

    Other Dates:
    24 November - Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, St Paul's Hall
    27 November - Glasgow University
    4 December - The Tolbooth, Stirling
    14 November - sound festival, Newton Dee Community, Bieldside, Aberdeen

Darkly seductive tones from three alto flutes were gradually substituted with brighter sounding instruments, till in the third movement two piccolos took on a single flute in lively interplay. The finale involved three different types of flute in delightful contrapuntal exchanges.
Alan Cooper, The Herald,17/11/2008
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.