Repertoire Search

Tarik O'Regan

Publisher: Novello & Co

We Remember Them (2005)
Text Writer
Roland B. Gittlesohn
Novello & Co Ltd
Chorus a cappella / Chorus plus 1 instrument
Year Composed
3 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
soprano; SATB

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Tarik O'Regan We Remember Them (2005)
We Remember Them is an arrangement of the central section of the three-movement work, Triptych, which itself represents the concatenation of two commissions.

Movement I (Threnody) was commissioned with funds from The RVW Trust for the inaugural concert of the Choir of London conducted by Jeremy Summerly in Christ Church, Spitalfields on 18th December, 2004; the work was subsequently toured by the Choir to Jerusalem and the West Bank from 19th December to 26th December, 2004.

Movements II (As We Remember Them) and III (From Heaven Distilled a Clemency), commissioned by Portsmouth Grammar School with financial support from the PRS Foundation, were premièred as And There Was a Great Calm in a contiguous version for lower strings and upper voices by the Portsmouth Grammar School Chamber Choir and the London Mozart Players in a concert at Portsmouth Anglican Cathedral on 13th November, 2005 conducted by Nicolae Moldoveanu.


In the rising of the sun and at its going down, we remember them.
In the blowing of the wind and in the chill of winter, we remember them.
In the opening buds and in the rebirth of spring, we remember them.
In the blueness of the sky and in the warmth of summer, we remember them.
In the rustling of the leaves and in the beauty of autumn, we remember them.
When [we’re] weary and in need of strength, we remember them.
When [we’re] lost and sick at heart, we remember them.
So long as we live, they too shall live, for they are part of us,
As we remember them.
Roland B. Gittelsohn (1910 – 1995) [adapted],
from ‘The Gates of Repentance’ (1978)

Tarik O’Regan
New York, November 2006

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.