Repertoire Search

Tan Dun

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Traces (1989)
G Schirmer Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Tan Dun Traces (1989)
Composer Note:

Once I was riding in a bus through the mountains in south China on a cold day. The windows were closed, but one near me had a little gap. The wind was whistling in, and I noticed it was singing A - C - D, those three notes. Sometimes it would disappear, but always return. I discovered that in between this appearing and disappearing. I was able to notice much more clearly the sounds of river, road, trees, and my own breath. Afterwards, I began to find this A - C - D singing everywhere, in birds, in folk music and language of many cultures. So in Traces I used A - C - D as the only pitch materials, and wrote many rests in which to hear clearly the sounds of the natural environment and of yourself. Doesn't this sound like Cage? Two thousand years ago, the Chinese philosopher Lao Tse said that the greatest sound can be heard only in silence. I think so too.

— Tan Dun

Sample Pages

This item is available via Print on Demand from the G. Schirmer Library.

Score: $15

To order please fill out this form and email to or fax to 845-469-7544.

Click here for more information about Print on Demand.

  • Soloist(s)
    Gabriella Smart (piano)
    Move Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.