Repertoire Search

Karel Husa

Publisher: AMP

Apotheosis of this Earth (for band) (1970)
Work Notes
the optional chorus parts are available on rental
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for Band/Wind/Brass Ensemble
Sub Category
Concert Band
Year Composed
25 Minutes
SATB [optional]

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)
Score Score

Programme Note
Karel Husa Apotheosis of this Earth (for band) (1970)
Composer Note:

The composition of Apotheosis of this Earth was motivated by the present desperate stage of mankind and its immense problems with everyday killings, war, hunger, extermination of fauna, huge forest fires, and critical contamination of the whole environment.

In the first movement, "Apotheosis," the earth first approaches as a point of light in the universe. Our memory and imagination approach it in perhaps the same way as it appeared to the astronauts returning from the moon. The earth grows larger and larger, and we can even remember some of its tragic moments (as struck by the xylophone near the end of the movement).

The second movement, "Tragedy of Destruction," deals with the actual brutalities of man against nature, leading to the destruction of our planet, perhaps by radioactive explosion. The earth dies as a savagely, mortally wounded creature.

The last movement is a "Postscript", full of the realization that so little is left to be said: the earth has been pulverized into the universe, the voices scattered into space. Toward the end, these voices -- at first computer-like and mechanical -- unite into the words "this beautiful earth", simply said, warm and filled with regret…and one of so many questions comes to our minds: "Why have we let this happen?"

-- Karel Husa

  • Ensemble
    Ithaca College Wind Ensemble
    Rodney Winther
    Mark Masteres:
  • Ensemble
    Ithaca College Wind Ensemble
    Rodney Winther
    Mark Masters:
  • Ensemble
    University of North Texas Wind Symphony
    GIA Publications:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.