Repertoire Search

Karel Husa

Publisher: AMP

String Quartet No. 4 (Poems) (1990)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
20 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Karel Husa String Quartet No. 4 (Poems) (1990)
Composer Note:

String Quartet No. 4 (Poems) was commissioned by the National Endowment for the Arts for the consortium of Colorado, Blair and Alard Quartets. The work was completed in the spring of 1989 in Ithaca, New York.

A collection of six poems, the String Quartet No. 4 explores possibilities of unusual sonorities in a virtuosic writing. The individual poems speak of Bells, Sunlights, Darkness, Life and Freedom, Wild bird, Trees and Hope. They are performed without interruption .

The String Quartet No. 4 was performed for the first time by the Colorado Quartet at the International Ranacek Music Festival in Brno, Czechoslovakia on October 12, 1991.

— Karel Husa

  • Ensemble
    Colorado String Quartet
    Albany Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.