Repertoire Search

John Harbison

Publisher: AMP

String Quartet No. 2 (1987)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
25 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
John Harbison String Quartet No. 2 (1987)
Composer note:

String Quartet No. 2 was commissioned by the Harvard Musical Association for performance by the Emerson Quartet. It was begun in Los Angeles in December 1986, and completed at Token Creek, Wisconsin in July 1987. The first performance was at Boston's Jordan Hall on November 15, 1987.

The five movements, Fantasia, Concerto, Recitative and Aria, Sonata, and Chorale Fantasia, are played without pause.

— John Harbison

Sample Pages

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.