Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Tjampuan (1992)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
15 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Tjampuan (1992)
TJAMPUAN, ´Where the Rivers meet´- 6 Movements for violin and cello

Any nature phenomenon with a character of its own - a bat cave, a very old banja tree etc, is by the balinese regarded as holy (for which reason very often a temple is placed close to it !)

Thus also the place where two rivers meet (called ´tjampuan´in Indonesian, this also the name of a valley ´where the rivers meet´near Ubud, Bali).

The connection to a duo for violin and cello is hardly difficult to understand: Two individualities integrate their soloistic expressions to one, the rivers meet.

The 5th movement, however, is a thorough contrast movement (more ´brook like´!), as is also the 6th movement which, with its whirling figurations, rather associate to kataracts or fountains.

Per Nørgård (1992)

  • Soloist(s)
    Heinrich Hörlein (violin), Friedemann Pardall (cello)
    KOCH Classics GmbH:
  • Soloist(s)
    Morten Zeuthen (cello), Anton Kontra (violin)
  • Soloist(s)
    Szymon Krzeszowiec; Jakob Kullberg; Alexander Øllgaard
    BIS Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.