Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Viltir svanir (Vilde Svaner) (1994)
Work Notes
Nørgårds tre saxofonkvartetter er: Saxofonkvartet Nr. 1-Roads to Ixtlan , 1992-93 Saxofonkvartet Nr. 2-Viltir Svanir (Wild Swans), 1994 Saxofonkvartet Nr. 3-Dansere omkring Jupiter (Dancers around Jupiter), 1995
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
12 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Viltir svanir (Vilde Svaner) (1994)
VILTIR SVANIR (WILD SWANS) - (1994). 5 movements for saxophone quartet.

Viltir Svanir (Wild Swans) was commissioned and composed for The Nordic House in Reykjavik in 1994, to celebrate the 5oth anniversary of Iceland´s independence. The work´s five relatively short movements have a distinctly Nordic character is, for this composer, easy to hear yet impossible to demonstrate.
He prefers, therefore, to concentrate on the work´s individual form. Each of the five movements has its own character, yet the work as a whole can be understood as one continuous movement, in the manner of a stream hidden momentarily from earshot as it flows under the ´bridges´ of the pauses. Whenever motifs of melody, tone and rhythm reappear, they are brought together in ever-new relationships. A melodic fore-phrase, for example, returns as the after-phrase to a motif which has been, perhaps, an after-phrase to another motif, and so on.
My saxophone quartets No. 1-2-3 was composed between 1992 and 1995 and has the following titles:

Roads to Ixtlan , 1992-93
Viltir Svanir (Wild Swans), 1994
Dansere omkring Jupiter (Dancers around Jupiter), 1995

Per Nørgård (1995)

  • Ensemble
    Danish Saxophone Quartet
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.