Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

Aubade (Study No 4) (1970)
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
John McCabe Aubade (Study No 4) (1970)
AUBADE is the fourth in a series of piano pieces given the generic subtitle 'Studies'. Each work is a self-contained recital piece, but each one concentrates especially on certain aspects of pianistic and/or compositional technique. AUBADE is a slow piece in which the music derives principally from the extended use of arpeggio figures and appoggiaturas, as the pianistic elements upper-most in the piece; formally, the music is fairly free, but it is quite concertrated in its thematic material, and it is intended to conjure up not so musch the coming dawn (as the title might suggest) but the moment of stillness before dawn. Brief fragments of melodies are heard, but as if in recollection.

  • Soloist(s)
    John McCabe, piano; Len Vorster, piano
    British Music Society:
  • Soloist(s)
    Tamami Honma (piano)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.