Repertoire Search

Gian Francesco Malipiero

Publisher: Chester Music

L' Orfeide
Work Notes
reduced orchestration
Chester Music Ltd
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Programme Note
L’Orfeide is not a set of three operas in one act, but a single opera in three parts. Parts I and II, however, can be performed independently. Part I introduces the seven Masques and Orpheus himself. Part II presents a continuous sequence of dramatic episodes, each telling its own miniature story - there are seven, like the Masques of Part I and the Eighth, a Canzona (Part III), represents Orpheus who also appeared at the end of Part I, thus
sealing the cycle’s unity.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.