Repertoire Search

John Joubert

Publisher: Novello & Co

Silas Marner (1961)
Text Writer
Rachel Trickett after the novel by George Eliot
Novello & Co Ltd
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
2 Hours 10 Minutes
10 singing parts
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Joubert Silas Marner (1961)

Set in the fictional village of Raveloe, the plot centres on Silas Marner, a weaver who is forced to leave his hometown in the north after being falsely accused of theft by members of his chapel. His religious faith gone, for fifteen years Marner isolates himself from the life of the village and becomes a miser. But when the gold that he cherishes is stolen and he adopts a child whose mother has just died, his life changes dramatically for the better.

Preview the score

Or go to Act 2, or Act 3.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.