Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

Scrunch for Piano (Study No 8: Omaggio a Domenico Scarlatti) (2001)
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
6 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
John McCabe Scrunch for Piano (Study No 8: Omaggio a Domenico Scarlatti) (2001)
Scrunch (Study No 8 - Omaggio a Domenico Scarlatti) (2000/1)

John McCabe’s ongoing cycle of studies for piano are strikingly individual stand-alone works, some very substantial in length, composed variously throughout the career of a composer of one of the most significant œuvres of contemporary piano music by any living composer. The piano studies share with the sets by Chopin, Debussy and Ligeti their narrow scrutiny of a small set of pianistic or compositional problems.

I was delighted and honoured that, amongst such a fine collection of studies, Scrunch (Study No 8 – Omaggio a Domenico Scarlatti) and, more recently, Snowfall in Winter (Study No 9 – Hommage à Debussy) were written for me. I adore the quirkiness of Scrunch, a humour not unreminiscent of Haydn, along with stylistic elements derived from one of the other great keyboard composers, Scarlatti, in particular his Sonatas in A Minor (L429) and D Major (L206). Composed in 2000-2001 and described by the composer as essentially a jeu d’esprit, Scrunch is a dizzying toccata with jazzy rhythmic interplay. Its middle section contains a succession of oddly fanciful episodes, amounting to a thrilling experience for the performer and listener alike.

Programme Note © Copyright 2003 by Tamami Honma

Score Sample

John McCabe's 'Scrunch (Study No. 8 - Omaggio a Domenico Scarlatti)' is a burst of eclectic energy that demands much of a pianist as it makes its way from a rollicking opening, through passages built on jazz rhythms, to dissections and reconstructions of certain harmonic moves one finds in Scarlatt's harpsichord sonatas.
Allan Kozinn, The New York Times,02/07/2002
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.