Repertoire Search

Hugh Wood

Publisher: Chester Music

Piano Trio (1984)
commissioned by the Parikian-Fleming-Roberts Trio
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
18 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Hugh Wood Piano Trio (1984)
i. Allegro appassionato
ii. Adagio molto, calmo e mesto
iii. Vivace scherzando e capriccioso, sempre soot voce

I had the first idea for this piece on an Italian holiday in August 1982- near the bus station at Bergamo, I think. It’s the one heard in double octaves on violin and cello, just after the explosive outburst which begins the movement; and it recurs many times in many forms throughout. When this theme is worked out for the first time, it is followed by a solo violin; then one for the cello. There are then a series of three lyrical duet passages, each more expansive than the last, each with percussive interruptions in sixths on the piano, which boil over into the central climax of the movement. The recapitulation is mostly calm and spare. The order of the solos is reversed: cello first, then violin, and a shortened transformation of the duet passages, before a last couple of appearances of the explosive opening: the first in its original character, the second ghostly. The bus station idea almost turns into an ostinato before it fades away.

The slow movement is simply ternary. The opening tune, with its falling sixth, is heard on the highest register of the violin: then solos for violin and cello soon turn into a sustained duet. The piano begins the middle sector, which should move along in more easily lyrical character without changing tempo. Its climax is plunged into tremolando sul, ponticello playing, which has a climax of its own, then dissolves back into the return – the piano has the tune this time. Cello then violin solo turn once more into a sustained duet. The piano apparently tries to start the middle section again, but after a brief passage for the strings alone, the music rises to the highest register in which it began.

The final is meant to be a sort of moto perpetuo in rondo form, to be played sotto voce until late on in the movement. I love those Haydn op 20 finales which do this, but I couldn’t keep mine quite long enough. This subsidiary sections of the rondo are: a violin passage, then a cello passage, accompanied by cluster chords. When these two instruments play this passage as a duet the music gets loud for the first time, and it is near the end.

The work was finished Easter Sunday 1984. It is dedicated to the ensemble which are to give its first performance: Maroug Parikian, Armaryllis Fleming and Bernard Roberts.

Hugh Wood

  • Ensemble
    The London Archduke Trio
    Paul Silverthorne (viola), Roger Heaton (clarinet)
  • 14 JUN 2012
    Hugh Wood 80th Birthday Concert (Park Lane Group Anniversary Series)
    Purcell Room, Queen Elizabeth Hall, LONDON
    Lawson Piano Trio
    Roger Montgomery (horn), Susanne Stanzeleit (violin), Dominic Saunders (piano)
  • 08 JUN 2012
    Bath International Music Festival
    Guildhall, Bath
    Fournier Piano Trio
    Chiao-Ying Chang (piano, Sulki Yu (violin), Pei-Jee Ng (cello)
  • 27 AUG 2010
    Presteigne Festival of Music and the Arts 2010
    Preseteigne Festival, Presteigne, UK
  • 19 JUL 2002
    Cheltenham Music Festival 2002
    Town Hall, Cheltenham
    members of the London Sinfonietta
  • 20 MAY 1999
    Kettle's Yard, Cambridge
    Joachim Trio
    Jonathan Williams, horn

muscular but gently expressive in the moments of Ravel-like delicacy.
Rian Evans, Guardian,03/09/2010
John Rushby-Smith,,02/09/2010
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.