Repertoire Search

Tristan Keuris

Publisher: Novello & Co

Antologia (1991)
Commissioned by the Orchestra Sinfonica dell' Emilia - Romagna 'Arturo Toscanini'
Work Notes
For the Rassegna Europea di Musica Contemporanea
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Tristan Keuris Antologia (1991)
Antologia is my first symphonic piece after a period dominated by vocal works and, in a way, is a survey of a period which started with my Piano Trio (1984).
The title does not mean that I quoted fragments, sections or even complete movements from earlier pieces; I used merely harmonies, interval structures or gestures from pieces composed during the last 10 years. Antologia is a one- movement piece, but one can make a rough subdivision into three movements; slow-fast-slow. Nevertheless, I did not make the separate movements very clear - I aimed more for a gradual progression through the different sections.
The piece is written in a continuous variation technique. All the sections are linked; for example, the slow descending melody in the opening (which is played by the woodwind, high-pitched percussion instruments and solo strings) returns in the second movement as a fast, softly-played chamber music fragment. The conclusion of the piece is based on the climax of the second movement (like an echo) and the "announcement" of the second movement itself (which later becomes very important) is derived from an episode played by the strings just after the opening.
I tried to write this piece in a varied, colourful style; using ensembles, soli and, of course, the more traditional "full orchestral sound". In short, I wanted to explore the many possibilities of a medium-sized orchestra.
@ Tristan Keuris 1991

  • 10 OCT 2008
    Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Holland
    Koninkliijk Concergebouworkest
    David Robertson, conductor

    Other Dates:
    11 October - Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Holland
  • 19 APR 2008
    Utrecht, Holland
    Radio Filharmonisch Orkest

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.