Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Cello Concerto No. 1 (2001)
commissioned by the Beijing Music Festival for cellist Julian Lloyd Webber's 50th birthday
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

  • Ensemble
    Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
    Julian Lloyd Webber (vc), Evelyn Glennie (timp), Jonathan Haas (timp)
    Gerard Schwarz
    Orange Mountain Music:
  • 14 NOV 2014
    Theatre de l'Archipel Perpigan, France
    Conservatoire de Perpignan
    Daniel Tosi, conductor
  • 22 MAR 2013
    Staatstheater Stuttgart, Germany
    Orchestra of the Staatstheater Stuttgart
  • 30 SEP 2010
    Cello Concerto No. 1 Country Premiere
    Groningen, Holland
    Noord Nederlands Orkest
    Michael Jurowski, conductor

    Other Dates:
    1 October - Groningen, Holland
  • 15 AUG 2010
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Cabrillo Music Festival
    Wendy Sutter; Marin Alsop, conductor
  • 30 JUL 2010
    Quito, Ecuador
    Youth Orchestra of Americas
    Carlos Miguel Prieto, conductor

    Other Dates:
    2,3 August - Lima, Peru
  • 30 JUL 2010
    Arlington, VA
    Youth Orchestra of the Americas
    Carlos Miguel Prieto, conductor

    Other Dates:
    31 July; 1-3 August - Arlington, VA
  • 21 JUN 2010
    Brussels Philharmonic
  • 03 NOV 2007
    San Diego, USA
    La Jolla Symphony

    Other Dates:
    4 November - San Diego, USA
  • 18 MAR 2007
    Suginami Kokaido Hall, Japan
    Post Komaba Orchestra
  • 08 DEC 2006
    UCSD Mandeville Auditorium, La Jolla, California, USA
    La Jolla Symphony
    Wendy Sutter; Steven Schick, conductor

    Other Dates:
    9 December - UCSD Mandeville Auditorium, La Jolla, California, USA
  • 08 APR 2006
    Usher Hall, Edinburgh
    Edinburgh Youth Orchestra
    Julian Lloyd Webber, cello; Garry Walker, conductor

    Other Dates:
    9 April - Music Hall, Aberdeen
    11 April - Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Glasgow
  • 26 MAY 2005
    Brighton Festival 2005
    Concert Hall, Brighton
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Julian Lloyd Webber; David Charles Abell, conductor
  • 21 OCT 2001
    Cello Concerto No. 1 World Premiere
    Beijing Festival
    Beijing, China
    China Philharmonic Orchestra
    Julian Lloyd Webber, cello; Yu Long, conductor

In this vibrant work [...] rhythm is key. Once the classic Glass arpeggios get started, there are few opportunities to stop for breath. Much of the load rests on the soloist who has a long virtuosic cadenza at the start and plays throughout the piece. [...] The first and last movements were the most successful...
Susan Nickalls, The Scotsman,4/11/2006
Philip Glass's Cello Concerto is more dogged in the way it pursues its rhythmic patterns. The tone is dark, even sombre...
Ivan Hewett, The Daily Telegraph,5/31/2005
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.