Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Three Shanties for Wind Quintet (1943)
Paterson Publications
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Three Shanties for Wind Quintet (1943)
Allegro con brio – Allegretto semplice – Allegro vivace

Sir Malcolm Arnold has long been recognised as a composer who, perhaps uniquely, combines effervescent skill with more than a little ebullience and nowhere could these qualities be more amply demonstrated than in his Three Shanties which, written in 1943, provide as much fun for the listener as for the player. The bubbling figuration and racy rhythms of the outer movements frame a charming and sensitively scored Allegretto semplice, ‘Boney was a warrior’.

The drunken sailor in the first movement is brilliantly portrayed in various stages of intoxication. He chases his pigtails in a canon at the minor third, develops hiccoughs, finds himself in a state of remorse, on the shores of South America, dancing the tango to a minor key; but eventually he pulls himself together and reports for duty, presto ben marcato.

‘Boney was a warrior’ heads the second movement and, by taking was as the operative word, the composer makes this the contrasting movement. The last shanty is based on ‘Johnny come down to Hilo’ and is bursting with humour and boisterousness. The writing for the instruments is brightly coloured throughout. In this type of work Arnold is at his best.

  • Soloist(s)
    Judith Pearce, flute / Gareth Hulse, oboe / Michael Collins, clarinet / Marcia Crayford, violin / Roger Chase, viola / John Pigneguy, horn / Brian Wightman, bassoon
  • Soloist(s)
    Jaime Martin, flute / Jonathan Kelly, oboe / Emma Johnson, clarinet / Claire Briggs and Susanna Cohen, winds
  • Ensemble
    Bergen Wind Quintet
  • Ensemble
    Frosunda-Blaser Quintet
  • Ensemble
    Prague Wind Quintet
  • Ensemble
    Academy of St Martin in the Fields
    James Galway, flute / Gareth Hulse, oboe / Anthony Pay, clarinet / Rachel Gough and Philip Eastop, winds
    Sir Neville Marriner
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.