Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto for Organ & Orchestra (1954)
Paterson Publications
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Concerto for Organ & Orchestra (1954)
This Concerto is in three movements, and is written for three trumpets, timpani and strings. The trumpet parts are in the high register, in the tradition of Bach and Handel.

The first movement (Vivace) is based on two themes – the first played by strings in octaves at the start of the movement; the second, later on in the movement, is played by the organ, interrupted angrily by the orchestra.

In the second movement (Lento) the organ is accompanied only by muted strings. The form is very simple (Ternary, in fact) and the movement could best be described as a meditation.

The last movement (Allegretto) is a fugue, the subject of which is a rhythmical variation of the first movement. This leads to a climax when the violins and violas play the fugue subject and organ and trumpets play the theme of the first movement in its original form. A short and loud coda brings the work to an end.

© Sir Malcolm Arnold

  • Ensemble
    Royal Aarhus Academy of Music Symphony Orchestra
    Ulrik Spang-Hanssen
    Douglas Bostock
  • 12 JAN 2020
    Chevy Chase Presbyterian Church, Chevy Chase, MD
    Apollo Orchestra
    Julie Vidrick Evans, Performing First Movement Only; Stephen Czarkowski, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.