Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sinfonietta No 3 (1964)
Paterson Publications
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Sinfonietta No 3 (1964)
Arnold’s third “Little Symphony” completed on September 1st 1964, extends the scope of his two earlier essays in this form. The Sinfonietta No. 1 composed in 1954 is scored for two oboes, two horns and strings and comprises three light weight movements. The Sinfonietta No. 2 of 1958 exchanges the oboes for flutes and presents a more sombre mood. The Sinfonietta No. 3 is scored for a classical chamber orchestra comprising one flute, two oboes, two bassoons, two horns and strings. Arnold uses these forces in four concise movements to convey an altogether more serious mood than presented in his earlier examples. The first movement is predominantly anxious, the second similar only more turbulent. The Andante sets a lonely melody against acid harmonies and the finale is a study in rhythmic impetus.

© Margaret Archibald

  • Ensemble
    CBSO / Bournemouth SO / Philharmonia Orhcestra / Bourmouth Sinfonietta
    Malcolm Arnold / Charles Groves / Neville Dikes / Ronald Thomas
  • Ensemble
    London Festival Orchestra
    Anna Pyne, flute / Malcolm Messiter, oboe
    Ross Pople
    Arte Nova:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.