Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sinfonietta No 2 (1958)
Paterson Publications
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Sinfonietta No 2 (1958)
Arnold’s second Sinfonietta followed the first by just four years and also was the result of a commission, this time from the Jacques Orchestra. This London ensemble, founded by the highly respected choral scholar and conductor Reginald Jacques in 1936, was formed to provide the instrumental accompaniment to Jacques’ critically acclaimed performances by the London Bach Choir. Soon after its formation, however, the Jacques Orchestra also began to present concerts apart from the choir and, from 1947, regularly presented orchestral programmes at the Edinburgh Festival. In 1960, ill health forced Jacques to forgo conducting and the orchestra folded. Arnold’s second Sinfonietta is testimony to the skill and fluency possessed by both Arnold and the Jacques Orchestra at the time of the work’s composition in 1958. It is scored for strings and pairs of flutes and horns. Never one to be too far advanced of his audience, Arnold’s second Sinfonietta is generally more lyrical and serene than the first over the course of the first two movements. In the third and final stanza, the ensemble, led by the flutes, bursts forth in a frenetic, but entirely tonal, dance-like melody that, as with the first Sinfonietta, brings the piece to a brilliant close.

© Koch International

  • Ensemble
    San Diego Chamber Orchestra
    Donald Barra
  • Ensemble
    CBSO / Bournemouth SO / Philharmonia Orhcestra / Bourmouth Sinfonietta
    Malcolm Arnold / Charles Groves / Neville Dikes / Ronald Thomas
  • Ensemble
    London Festival Orchestra
    Anna Pyne, flute / Malcolm Messiter, oboe
    Ross Pople
    Arte Nova:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.