Repertoire Search

Malcolm Arnold

Publisher: Novello & Co

Symphony No 3 (1957)
Paterson Publications
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
33 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Malcolm Arnold Symphony No 3 (1957)
1. Allegro – Vivace
2. Lento
3. Allegro con brio – Presto – Lento e maestoso – Presto

This symphony, which was composed between 1954 and 1957, is written for normal symphony orchestra without harp or percussion. It is in three movements.

The first movement has two main subjects, the first of which is played by the violins, violas, flutes and bassoon at the very outset of the piece. Later on, the second subject is first stated by the oboe, accompanied by violins. Towards the end of the movement the tempo abruptly changes and the same material is developed as a scherzo.

The second movement, elegiac in character, is a set of variations based on a series of chords more than a melodic theme.

The last movement is based on three main themes and could be loosely described as a rondo.

The symphony is dedicated to the Royal Liverpool Society.

Symphony No. 3 was commissioned by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society; First Performance Royal Liverpool Orchestra / John Pritchard / Royal Festival Hall, London 2nd December 1957.

  • Ensemble
    National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland
    Andrew Penny
  • Ensemble
    London Philharmonic Orchestra
    Sir Malcolm Arnold
  • Ensemble
    London Symphony Orchestra
    Richard Hickox
  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra/Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra/ BBC Concert Orchestra
    Vernon Handley
    Conifer Records Limited:
  • 17 AUG 2018
    Leeds Town Hall, UK
    Yorkshire Young Sinfonia
    Tom Hammond, conductor
  • 26 NOV 2016
    Christchurch, Chelmsford, UK
    Essex Symphony Orchestra
    Tom Hammond, conductor
  • 16 NOV 2012
    St Stephens Church, Lewisham
    St Paul's Sinfonia
    Andrew Morley, conductor
  • 22 OCT 2011
    Derngate Theatre, Northampton
    Slaithwaite Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 21 NOV 2009
    Hitchin, UK
    Hitchin Symphony Orchestra
    Adrian Rooke, conductor
  • 04 APR 2009
    Town Hall, Huddersfield
    Slaithwaite Philharmonic Orchestra
    Benjamin Ellin, conductor
  • 04 OCT 2008
    Ealing, London
    Ealing Symphony Orchestra
  • 06 APR 2008
    Lord Riche Hall, Felsted, Essex
    Essex Chamber Orchestra
  • 03 APR 2004
    Crowstone Church, Westliff-on-sea, Essex
    Southend Philharmonic
  • 25 NOV 2001
    Haverhill Sinfonia
    Kevin Hill, conductor
  • 20 SEP 2001
    BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
    Rumon Gamba, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.