Repertoire Search

Giles Swayne

Publisher: Novello & Co

String Quartet No 1 (1971)
written for the Sartori String Quartet
Work Notes
winner of the GLAA Young Composer's Prize 1972
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Giles Swayne String Quartet No 1 (1971)
Giles Swayne: String Quartet 1 (op 8)

My first quartet was written during the summer of 1971, just after I finished at the RAM. It was first performed by the Sartori Quartet (led by Cristoforo Rolando) at the Bromsgrove Festival in the following April.

The piece is in one continuous movement, and consists of twenty variations on the three quiet, widely spaced chords which are heard at the opening. These variations are closely linked, and begin to overlap towards the end - where, at the climax of the piece, the ensemble breaks up altogether, and the four instruments play independently for a while.

From this point onwards the tension gradually unwinds, and the piece ends slowly and quietly with a high, ghostly chorale and a recapitulation of the three thematic chords.


Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.