Repertoire Search

Kevin Volans

Publisher: Chester Music

The Man With Footsoles of Wind (1993)
commissioned by Dancelines Productions and the English National Opera Contemporary Opera Studio, with assistance from the Arts Council of Great Britain
Work Notes
Dedicated to Yvar Mikhashoff
Chester Music Ltd
Opera and Music Theatre
Sub Category
Chamber Opera
Year Composed
1 Hours 30 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Treble, 2 Sopranos, Tenor, Baritone, spoken part
Programme Note
Kevin Volans The Man With Footsoles of Wind (1993)

The main body of the opera is set in the Ethiopian desert and is, like Bruce Chatwin’s book, ‘an imaginary conversation on an imaginary journey’. Roger Clarke’s libretto draws on Rimbaud’s A Season in Hell which to some extent prefigures Rimbaud’s wanderings in Africa, like a kind of ‘songline’.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.