Repertoire Search

Kevin Volans

Publisher: Chester Music

Cicada (1994),
commissioned for the Double Edge Piano Duo by the Mary Carey Foundation
Work Notes
dedication: Derek Hill
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
26 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score Score

Programme Note
Kevin Volans Cicada (1994),
Cicada is my first genuinely minimalist piece. The title comes from a series of works by Jasper Johns, that are built up from hatch-marks and which are mirrored symmetrically down the middle of the paintings. I felt the pictures reflected the way in which the two piano parts mirror and interlock with each other exactly. But the real inspiration for the piece was the work of James Turrell. A friend took me to an opening of his in Kilkenny. In the evening we sat in large cubic light box in the grounds of the castle and over a period of an hour watched a square of sky overhead turn from the blue-gray of Irish clouds, though Yves Klein blue to slate black. I stayed overnight in my friend's minimalist house in Killiney. The next morning I woke to a glittering square of sunlight reflected off the sea and I decided: no composition; don't change anthing except the tone.

The piece lasts approximately 23 minutes and was written for Double Edge (New York) with funds from the Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust. It is dedicated to Derek Hill.

Kevin Volans

  • Soloist(s)
    Kevin Volans, Matteo Fargion, Mathilda Hornsveld and Jill Richards, pianos
    Black Box:
  • Soloist(s)
    Jeroen van Veen and Elizabeth Bergmann, pianos
    Brilliant Classics:
  • 21 NOV 2004
    Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival 2004
    St. Paul's Hall, Huddersfield
    Kevin Volans (pf), Jill Richards (pf)
  • 27 NOV 2003
    BMIC Cutting Edge
    The Warehouse, London
    Bugallo-Williams Piano Duo
  • 06 OCT 2001
    ISCM World Music Days
    Yokohama, Japan
    Kayato Matsunaga and Totsuya Hoyashi, pianos

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.