Repertoire Search

John Tavener

Publisher: Chester Music

Melina (1994)
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed
5 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
John Tavener Melina (1994)
In my teens Melina Mercouri was my ideal of feminine beauty. Much later on, when I knew her as Minister of Culture, I came to understand something of her inner beauty and to empathise with her burning aspirations for Greece. Then, all of a sudden, while on holiday in Cyprus, I learned of her death. My immediate reaction was to ring her brother Spiros whom I had met the year previously. Alas, I did not have his number, so instead I wrote 'Melina'.

  • Soloist(s)
    Kathryn Lukas, flute / Patricia Rozario, soprano / Iain Simock, handbells / John Tavener, piano / Stephen Tees, viola / Helen Tunstall, harp
  • Ensemble
    London Symphony Orchestra
    Andrew Marriner, clarinet
    Michael Tilson Thomas
    Sony BMG:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.