Repertoire Search

Robert Saxton

Publisher: Chester Music

Sonata for Piano (1981)
commissioend for 1981 Cambridge Summer Music Festival
Work Notes
in memory of Bela Bartók
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Robert Saxton Sonata for Piano (1981)
My Piano Sonata was written in 1981 at the request of Paul Webster for his Cambridge Summer Music Festival with funds provided by the Eastern Arts Association. The first performance was given on 19 August 1981 during the Festival by Renee Reznek in the Concert Hall of the University Music School.

The Sonata is in one movement which consists of several sections; the basic harmonic character of the music is heard gradually, as the opening tritone grows into dancing contrapuntal writing. During the course of the work, much is made of fast ‘foreground’ counterpoint which is delineating slower ‘background’ harmonic progressions and the music proceeds in a quickly-changing kaleidoscope matter. Towards the end the truly first slow music is heard, but this quickly accelerates into a very fast passage which accumulates in rapidly rising arpeggios; these lead into a coda which consists of rising chords; this is interrupted by the fast music of the previous section more than once, but finally the chords silence the toccata-like music, having become a little chorale for Bela Bartok, to whose memory the sonata is dedicated.

Robert Saxton

  • Soloist(s)
    Nicholas Unwin, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    Claire Hammond, piano
    Toccata Classics:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.