Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Wind Quintet (1992)
commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for Music Composition, Brigham Young University
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
12 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Wind Quintet (1992)
Commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University.

First performed by the Orpheus Wind Quintet on March 19, 1993 at Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah.

In this work the five instrumentalists, alternating between soloistic and accompaniamental roles, enact a kind of mini-drama without plot. The players are therefore asked to play throughout with the kind of freedom of expression that is found in opera.

There is one single movement with four sections:

1. Andanate espressivo: con molto rubato. Out of a quiet unison note (E), the flute emerges as a lyrical, expressive voice. Shortly the oboe with increasing agitation begins to challenge this mood. The horn becomes increasingly restless.
2. Più mosso: drammatico. The horn finally interrupts with a dramatic solo. Against this, the bassoon, and then the clarinet introduce an even faster tempo (a kind of moto perpetuo) which leasd eventually to a wild, anarchic cadenza, the climax of the piece (con passione).
3. Mesto: elegiaco. When the cadenza dies away, the bassoon sets a slow elegiac mood, accompanied by a simple chordal motif.
4. Andante espressivo. A return of the opening section, where both flute and clarinet now share the slow expressive theme. But this lyricism is not allowed to be re-established for long; the oboe again begins to intrude with increasing agitation, only to be fiercely interrupted by the horn who reintroduces the ‘chordal motif’ as well as a brief memory of the earlier moto perpetuo. The same ‘chordal motif’ eventually leads to a soft tolling cadence.

  • Ensemble
    The Mühlfeld Ensemble / English Serenata
    Stephen Varcoe, baritone
    Clarinet Classics:
  • 16 APR 2008
    Thea Musgrave - 80th Birthday Celebration Concert
    Birmingham Conservatoire, Birmingham
    Birmingham Conservatoire
  • 18 MAR 1993
    Wind Quintet World Premiere
    Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, US
    Orpheus Wind Quintet

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.