Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sonata for Three (1966)
commissioned by Donald McLachlan
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Sonata for Three (1966)
The Sonata for Three was commissioned in 1966 by Donald McLauchlin for his son and two friends to play at a music competition at Winchester College.

The unusual combination of flute, violin and guitar proved to be a stimulating challenge.

The work has four short movements: Declmando; Notturno which makes use of the very effective guitar harmonics; Improvisando, where certain rhythmical details are left free; and finally Scherzando, a lively rhythmical movement.

Thea Musgrave

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.