Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Colloquy (1960)
Work Notes
written for Manoug Parikian and Lamar Crowson
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Colloquy (1960)
Colloquy was written for Manoug Parikian and Lamar Crowson for their recital at the Cheltenham Festival in 1960.

There are four concise movements. The first, a fast movement with vigorous rhythmic motifs and sharp contrasts between sections. The second, a scherzo in rondo form with lyrical episodes. In the third movement, the material is at first very fragmented, but then builds with cumulative effect to the climax at the end, which is the main climax of the work. The last movement is slow and short.

Thea Musgrave

  • 09 MAR 2018
    Boston Court Performing Arts Center, Pasadena, CA, USA
    Panic Duo
  • 13 JUL 2006
    Cheltenham Music Festival 2006
    St Mary's Church, Painswick, UK
    Amelia Jones, violin; Michael Haynes, piano
  • 24 OCT 2001
    Birmingham Conservatoire
    Rimma Sushanskaya, violin / Gena Raps, piano
  • 12 JUL 1960
    Colloquy World Premiere
    Cheltenham Festival
    Cheltenham, UK
    Manoug Parikian, violin, Lamar Crowson, piano

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.