Repertoire Search

Michael Nyman

Publisher: Chester Music

1 - 100 (1976)
Work Notes
directed by Peter Greenaway
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
Programme Note
Michael Nyman 1 - 100 (1976)
Composed in 1976, 1-100 for multiple pianos demonstrated a curious confluence of free and fixed musical processes. The fixed systems control the background harmonic language and overall textural density (each player reads from the same written sequence of 100 sustained chords, rigidly arranged in the familiar baroque sequential standby of 'roots rising a 4th, descending a 5th', starting at the top of the keyboard and inexorably and slowly spiralling to the bottom). The free(-ish) process is designed to create unwritten harmonic (and rhythmic) divergences by overlapping the juxtaposition brought about by the fact that each individual reading of the chordal text is independent of those of the other players, since each pianist may only move to the next chord after the preceding one has decayed. Individual touch and hearing are therefore indeterminate factors causing the desired out-of syncness as the overall motion of the piece decelerates - as the chords get lower, they get thicker and the decay process slower.

Michael Nyman

  • Soloist(s)
    Michael Nyman, pianos and percussion / Nigel Shipway, percussion
    Obscure Records:
  • Ensemble
    Piano Circus
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.