Repertoire Search

Karen Tanaka

Publisher: Chester Music

Crystalline (1988)
Commissioned by Tomoko Yazawa
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Karen Tanaka Crystalline (1988)
This piece is constructed from seven short parts. B flat and E are used as axes throughout the work. A glassy, solid sound is required: like a cold, crystal sound sculpture.

Since I composed 'Crystalline' in 1988 I have wanted to project the image of crystal onto sound. A link and a further development from 'Crystalline' can be seen in the later pieces: 'Hommage en Cristal' (1991) for solo piano and strings, 'Metallic Crystal' (1994-95) for solo percussionist and computer and 'Crystalline II' (1995) for solo piano.

'Crystalline' was commissioned by Tomoko Yazawa, who gave the first performance in Tokyo on 7th September 1988.

© Karen Tanaka

But Karen Tanaka's Crystalline, also for piano and given with impressive poise by Tony Gray, beguiled because of its delicate, clear colours.
Stephen Pettitt, The Times,5/21/1991
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.