Repertoire Search

John Tavener

Publisher: Chester Music

The Toll Houses (unfinished)
Text Writer
Mother Thekla
Chester Music Ltd
Opera and Music Theatre
1 Hour 30 Minutes
chorus of 16 male and boys' voices; 1 actors/mimes; 6 dancers
Baritone, Bass, 3 Countertenors, Soprano, 2 Tenors
Solo Instrument(s)
4 comprimario (2 male voices, 2 female)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Reduced Score

Programme Note
John Tavener The Toll Houses (unfinished)
Beatrice is a corpse. Sociable, not very intelligent but enjoys mild gossip, men, tea-parties, bridge and outings.

The Toll Houses is the story of Beatrice and the seven deadly sins, a surreal pantomime set in the after-life. According to Orthodox legend, after death the soul is subjected to a series of tests, at fixed stages called Toll Houses. As a result of these tests, which are related to the seven deadly sins, the soul is then directed to either heaven or hell.
However, we as mortals cannot know the outcome of such divine judgement, therefore even though we see Beatrice failing every test, at the end of her journey through the toll houses, no judgement is pronounced and the whole process must start again.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.